Illustration of several pairs of white wireless earbuds beside their open charging cases and a pair of over-ear headphones on a light surface.
Technology · Guide

Which AirPods to Buy: AirPods 5, Pro 3, Max 2 or AirPods 4

Apple sells four AirPods models in Australia, from AirPods 5 at A$219 to AirPods Max 2 at A$999, and all four have noise cancellation. This guide compares them feature by feature using Apple’s own figures, lists Australian retailer prices, sets clearance AirPods 4 and the original AirPods Max against their replacements, shows what works on Android and covers AppleCare and your consumer guarantees.

Michel ElijahPublished 30 October 2026 Checked 30 October 2026 11 min read

Apple’s Australian store sells four AirPods models, from A$219 to A$999, all with Active Noise Cancellation. Apple no longer sells AirPods 4, but some retailers still have them on clearance. The tables below compare the current models, the older ones and what works on Android. Every figure is Apple’s or a retailer’s, read on 30 October 2026; we have not tested these earbuds.

Choosing on price with an iPhone: AirPods 5, A$219, with noise cancellation in an open-ear design. Want wireless charging and a volume swipe: AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case, A$249. Want noise cancellation Apple rates at up to 3x AirPods 5, a sealed in-ear fit, heart rate sensing or the Hearing Aid feature: AirPods Pro 3, A$429. Want over-ear headphones with wired lossless audio: AirPods Max 2, A$999.

Looking at AirPods 4 with noise cancellation on clearance? AirPods 5 cost less at Apple’s A$219 RRP than any clearance price we found for them, and Apple quotes stronger noise cancellation and an IP57 rating, against IP54, for AirPods 5.

Every Current AirPods Model Compared

Apple’s Australian prices and specifications, read 30 October 2026.

FeatureAirPods 5AirPods 5 (Wireless Charging Case)AirPods Pro 3AirPods Max 2
Price (Apple AU)A$219A$249A$429A$999
Active Noise Cancellation✓ Up to 1.5x AirPods 4 with ANC✓ Up to 1.5x AirPods 4 with ANC✓ Up to 3x AirPods 5✓ Up to 1.5x original AirPods Max
Transparency✓✓✓✓
Adaptive Audio✓✓✓✓
FitOpen-ear designOpen-ear designIn-ear, five silicone tip sizes from XXS to LOver-ear
Battery per charge, ANC onUp to 4 hoursUp to 5 hoursUp to 8 hoursUp to 20 hours
Battery per charge, noise control offUp to 6 hoursUp to 7 hoursNot statedNot stated
Total with case, ANC onUp to 20 hoursUp to 22 hoursUp to 24 hoursNot stated
ChargingUSB-C caseUSB-C case; Qi and Apple Watch chargersUSB-C MagSafe case; Qi and Apple Watch chargersUSB-C on the headphones; Smart Case
Dust, sweat and water rating (earbuds and case)IP57IP57IP57✗ No rating listed
Hearing Test in Australia✗✗✓ Australia listed✗
Hearing Aid in Australia✗✗✓ Australia listed✗
Hearing Protection in Australia✗✗✗ Australia not listed✗ Not listed for Max 2; Loud Sound Reduction listed
Heart rate sensing✗✗✓ During workouts, with iPhone✗
Find My and case speaker✓ Find My; no case speaker listed✓ Find My; speaker in case✓ Find My with Precision Finding; speaker in caseNot stated
Volume control✗ No volume swipe✓ Swipe on stem✓ Swipe on stem✓ Digital Crown
Lossless audio over USB-C✗✗✗✓ Wired
ChipH2H2H2; Ultra Wideband in caseH2 in each ear cup
USB-C cable in the box✗✗✗✓

Battery figures, noise cancellation multiples and ratings are Apple’s own, from its testing. Apple says the IP57 rating covers non-water sports and exercise and is not permanent. Hearing availability is from Apple’s Hearing Health Feature Availability page. Nothing was tested.

What the Differences Mean

The two AirPods 5 models use the same open-ear earbuds. The extra A$30 buys a case that also charges on a Qi pad or Apple Watch charger and has a speaker for Find My, a volume swipe on the stem, and one more hour per charge with noise cancellation, according to Apple. Apple says the two AirPods 5 cases are not interchangeable: each works only with its own earbuds.

AirPods Pro 3 seal the ear with silicone tips. They are the only current model with heart rate sensing during workouts, which Apple says works with the Fitness and Health apps and supported third-party apps on iPhone, and the Hearing Test and Hearing Aid features. Apple lists Australia for both hearing features. They are intended for adults, and Apple describes the Hearing Aid as being for perceived mild to moderate hearing loss. Australia was not on Apple’s list for the separate Hearing Protection feature when we checked.

AirPods Max 2 are over-ear headphones with up to 20 hours per charge. They charge by USB-C, and Apple says the Smart Case preserves battery charge in an ultra-low-power state. They are the only current model with wired lossless and ultra-low-latency audio over USB-C, and the only one with a USB-C cable in the box. Apple lists no dust or water resistance for them.

AirPods 5 went on sale on 18 September 2026, as covered in our AirPods 5 launch report. Apple’s Australian newsroom put AirPods Pro 3 on sale from 19 September 2025 at A$429 and opened orders for AirPods Max 2 on 26 March 2026 at A$999.

Current Models: Apple and Retailer Prices

Prices shown on each retailer’s website on 30 October 2026. Retailer prices change often.

ModelAppleJB Hi-FiHarvey NormanThe Good GuysBIG W
AirPods 5A$219$219$217$219$219
AirPods 5 (Wireless Charging Case)A$249$249$247$249$249
AirPods Pro 3A$429$429$427$429$429
AirPods Max 2A$999$999$997 (Midnight)$999 (Midnight)Not listed

"Not listed" means the model did not appear on the retailer page we read.

Older Models Still in Stores

Apple no longer prices AirPods 4, AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation or the original AirPods Max on its Australian store, but they were still listed by some retailers on 30 October 2026. We did not find AirPods Pro 2 on sale at JB Hi-Fi, Harvey Norman, The Good Guys or BIG W, and JB Hi-Fi’s AirPods page no longer listed AirPods 4.

Older AirPods vs the Current Equivalent

Retailer prices read 30 October 2026; comparisons use Apple’s compare page.

ModelPrice and retailerANCWhat you give up vs the current equivalent
AirPods 4$168 Harvey Norman (clearance); $187 The Good Guys (in store only); $219 BIG W✗Vs AirPods 5 at A$219: no ANC, Transparency or Adaptive Audio; IP54 instead of IP57; up to 5 hours per charge with noise control off, against 6 hours
AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation$238 Harvey Norman (clearance); $247 The Good Guys (in store only); $269 BIG W (special)✓Vs AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case at A$249: Apple says AirPods 5 have up to 1.5x the ANC; 4 hours per charge with ANC instead of 5; 20 hours total instead of 22; IP54 instead of IP57
AirPods Max (USB-C), Orange$797 Harvey Norman (clearance)✓Vs AirPods Max 2 at A$999: H1 chip instead of H2; no Adaptive Audio, Conversation Awareness or Live Translation; Apple quotes up to 1.5x the ANC for Max 2; same 20 hours per charge

AirPods 4 with ANC were dearer at every retailer we checked than AirPods 5 at Apple’s A$219 RRP, and AirPods 5 include ANC.

To tell generations apart, Apple’s Identify your AirPods page says the model number is in Settings on an iPhone or iPad, under each earbud, or behind the left ear cushion on AirPods Max. Apple lists AirPods 5 as A3531 to A3533, the Wireless Charging Case model as A3439 to A3441, AirPods 4 as A3050, A3053 and A3054, AirPods 4 (ANC) as A3055 to A3057, AirPods Pro 3 as A3063 to A3065, AirPods Max 2 as A3454 and AirPods Max (USB-C) as A3184.

Using AirPods With Android

Apple’s AirPods User Guide says AirPods work as a Bluetooth headset with a non-Apple device: you cannot use Siri, but you can listen and talk. To pair AirPods 5 or AirPods Pro 3, open the case next to the phone, double-tap the front of the case until the light flashes white, then select the AirPods in the phone’s Bluetooth list. Apple’s compare page warns that functionality may be limited on non-Apple devices.

What Works on Android

Based only on Apple’s own documentation, read 30 October 2026.

FeatureWorks on Android?
Playback and calls✓ Apple says you can listen and talk
Siri✗ Apple says you cannot use Siri
Switching between ANC and TransparencyNot stated
Adaptive Audio and Conversation Awareness✗ Apple says these need a compatible Apple device
Automatic switching between devices✗ Needs an Apple Account and a compatible Apple device
Find My✗ Apple lists iOS 27 or later as a requirement
Personalised Spatial Audio✗ Apple says it is not available on other devices
Hearing Test and Hearing Aid✗ Need a compatible iPhone or iPad; the Hearing Aid also works on a compatible Mac
Heart rate sensing✗ Needs an iPhone with iOS 26 or later
Live Translation✗ Needs an Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone
Firmware updates✗ Delivered through an iPhone, iPad or Mac; without one, Apple suggests an Apple Store or Authorised Service Provider appointment

"Not stated" means Apple’s pages do not say either way.

Which One Fits You

Editorial guidance based on Apple’s stated specifications; nothing was tested.

0 of 6 done

Common Questions

Do AirPods 4 have noise cancellation?

Only AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation. The standard AirPods 4 have none. Both have been replaced at Apple by AirPods 5, which include ANC at A$219.

AirPods Pro 3 or AirPods 5?

Pro 3 add a sealed in-ear fit, heart rate sensing, the Hearing Test and Hearing Aid, and up to 8 hours per charge with ANC, for A$210 more. AirPods 5 suit people who prefer an open-ear fit.

Do AirPods work with Android?

Yes, for listening and calls. Apple says Siri is unavailable, and features such as Find My, automatic switching and Personalised Spatial Audio need Apple devices.

AppleCare and Your Consumer Rights

Apple’s Australian store says AppleCare can be added from four days after your AirPods ship or are picked up, and is separate from, and in addition to, the Apple Limited Warranty and Australian Consumer Law. The ACCC says consumer guarantees are automatic and cannot be taken away, while warranties are extra promises on top.

For more device guides, see the Tech X Telco technology section.

Sources and How This Was Checked

Prices, specifications, battery figures and feature availability come from Apple’s Australian AirPods, compare, product, specification and store pages, Apple Support pages and Apple’s Australian newsroom, all read on 30 October 2026. Retailer prices are from the JB Hi-Fi, Harvey Norman, The Good Guys and BIG W websites on the same date. No AirPods were tested for this guide; noise cancellation and battery comparisons are Apple’s own figures.

Official Pages Used

Related on Tech X Telco: AirPods 5 Arrive 18 September: Australian Prices and Differences Between the Two Models

Michel ElijahContent Advisor

Michel Elijah covers technology, streaming and online security for Tech X Telco. He writes practical how-to guides on everything from email troubleshooting to spotting the latest scams doing the rounds in Australia, with a focus on clear steps anyone can follow.

Spotted something wrong? Corrections are recorded in the open. Report a correction

Keep reading
All stories
Technology

PS5 Pro vs PS5: Price, Specs and Who Should Upgrade

A side-by-side comparison of the PS5, PS5 Digital Edition and PS5 Pro for Australian buyers. Sony says the Pro adds a stronger GPU, faster ray tracing, PSSR upscaling, 2TB of storage and Wi-Fi 7, but it has no disc drive and cost A$400 more than the PS5 at JB Hi-Fi on 30 October 2026, or A$524 more with the A$124 Disc Drive. The guide sets out which TVs and games gain from the upgrade, how to check for PS5 Pro Enhanced games, and who should stay with a standard PS5.

Explainer
Technology

Noise-Cancelling Headphones Compared: Australian Prices

Side-by-side spec tables for noise-cancelling headphones and earbuds sold in Australia, from the Sony WH-1000XM6 and Bose QuietComfort Ultra (2nd Gen) to AirPods Pro 3 and soundcore Liberty 5, covering maker and JB Hi-Fi prices read on 30 October 2026, battery with ANC on, quick charge, wired listening, codecs, multipoint and replaceable parts. A shortlist by need for flights, iPhone, Android, commuting and under A$200 follows, plus how ANC works, safe listening limits and consumer rights. Nothing was tested.

Explainer
Technology

How to Take a Screenshot on a Mac: Shortcuts and Settings

Press Shift-Command-3 for the whole screen, Shift-Command-4 for part of it or Shift-Command-5 for the Screenshot app; add Control to copy instead of saving. Quick-reference tables compare every Mac shortcut, map Windows Snipping Tool habits to their Mac equivalents and list the Screenshot app’s options by macOS version, with steps, Markup and fixes for common problems, checked against Apple’s documentation for macOS 27 Golden Gate.

Explainer

One useful thing a week.

One setting worth changing, one service or AI change that matters, and one practical guide. No spam, unsubscribe any time.

Newsletter archive

Free · Australian · Unsubscribe any timeWe email a confirmation link first. Your address is stored only to send this newsletter.